Board of Directors

The IAJGS Board of Directors consists of four elected officers, six elected directors, and the immediate past president. Elections are held at the general meeting, which takes place in conjunction with the annual International Conference on Jewish Genealogy.


Marlis - smiling-edited

Marlis Humphrey
Florida, USA

Marlis brings experience in strategic planning, marketing, technology, and non-profit board governance to the IAJGS. She is Vice President of the Florida State Genealogical Society and VP Programs of the JGS Greater Orlando. Marlis is a member of the JewishGen Board of Governors. She was Co-Chair of the IAJGS Boston 2013 conference. She is the founder of myAncestories and a member of the APG, FGS, NGS, and the Genealogical Speakers Guild.


Vice President
Ken Bravo
Ohio, USA

Ken brings experience from his legal career and non-profit board governance to the IAJGS. Ken was Co-Chair of the IAJGS Salt Lake City 2014 conference. Ken has served on the national board of the Alzheimer’s Association. He is a past president of both the Cleveland Bureau Jewish Education and the Great Lakes Region of the Federation of Jewish Men’s Clubs. He has served as both Treasurer and Vice President of The Park Synagogue. He currently serves on the board of Menorah Park Center for Senior Living and chair of its Government Affairs Committee. Ken is Past President of the JGS Cleveland and a member of the APG. Ken has been engaged in genealogy for 35 years.


Mark Nicholls
United Kingdom

Mark brings 17 years experience in secretariat work in the UK public sector to the Board, having dealt with corporate governance issues such as board accountability, board operations, information management and data protection. A member of the Jewish Genealogical Society of Great Britain for several years holding the post of Chairman from October 2010 to May 2013 and Membership Secretary February 2009 to May 2013. Currently JGSGB’s Webmaster and a member of the JGSGB Publications Committee. An active genealogist since 1999.


Paul Silverstone

New York, USA



Nolan Altman
New York, USA

Nolan has served on the IAJGS board as a past director and as Vice President. He has been engaged in genealogy for 18 years. He brings accounting and finance experience as well as teaching experience to the board. He brings organizational and project management skills to the IAJGS. Nolan is Vice President Data Acquisition with JewishGen, responsible for growing the JewishGen Online Worldwide Burial Registry, JewishGen’s Holocaust Database, and the Memorial Plaque Project database. Nolan is President of JGS Long Island. He is a frequent lecturer on genealogy topics and has published many articles internationally.


Quinton Atkinson
Utah, USA

Quinton has pursued genealogy for 17 years. He brings experience in developing partnerships to the IAJGS. As Director Content/Partnership Development for, Quinton has managed a partnership with JewishGen for website hosting and content integration. He also led negotiations with the USHMM for the World Memory Project. Quinton has a background in economics. He has worked with local and national archives, non-profit, and government organizations worldwide.


Daniel Horowitz

Daniel has been engaged in genealogy since 1986 and developed the “Searching for My Roots” project at the Jewish school (Caracas, Venezuela). Daniel is Chief Genealogist and Translation Manager at MyHeritage and has served on the IAJGS board since 2008 where he has maintained the IAJGS website and run the IAJGS webinar service. In his role at MyHeritage, Daniel has promoted partnerships with JewishGen and with Beit Hatfutsot-Museum of the Jewish People. A frequent lecturer at genealogy conferences and events, Daniel is actively engaged in photographing and indexing projects. Most recently he worked on the Czernowitz BMD records indexing project and Jewish cemeteries project. Daniel co-founded the Jewish Genealogy Association of Venezuela.


Deborah Long

North Carolina, USA

Debbie started in genealogy 50 years ago, but has been pursuing genealogy in depth since 2008. Debbie successfully founded the Triangle JGS (Chapel Hill/Durham/Raleigh, North Carolina) and serves as president. She is a relentless researcher, comfortable with technology, and experienced teaching adults. Debbie is leading the IAJGS project to bring tools, templates, technology, and know-how to groups who want to form a new society.


Garri Regev


Garri is on the Steering Committee, Programming for the IAJGS Jerusalem 2015 conference. She is the founding president of IGRA, one of our fastest growing societies, and Past President IGS. Garri is a frequent lecturer on genealogy topics and volunteers at the Genealogy Center at the National Library of Israel and the Central Zionist Archives. Garri brings skills in organization, new societies and using technology.


Shipley Munson

Utah, USA

Shipley brings marketing experience to the IAJGS board and a vision for continued state-of-the-art technological support for conferences with Internet streaming and strong societies worldwide. He is currently Chief Marketing Officer and Director of the Outreach Division of FamilySearch. In his earlier marketing career, Shipley advised many Fortune 500 companies. Shipley has recently launched large scale indexing efforts such as the 1940 US Census project. He was the creator of the hugely successful RootsTech conference. Shipley speaks seven languages, has two degrees from Harvard University and an MBA from University of Chicago.

Immediate Past President


Immediate Past President
Michael Goldstein


Michael Goldstein served as IAJGS president from 2009-2013. Under Michael’s leadership, the IAJGS launched the webinar service, IAJGS LIVE! streaming from the annual conference, and the use of the conference app. Michael serves as Chairman of the JewishGen Board of Governors. Michael is a professional genealogist specializing in helping North Americans locate and connect their Israeli family. Michael serves as a director on the APG board. Michael is Chairman of the IAJGS Jerusalem 2015 conference.


International Association of Jewish Genealogical Societies