The International Association of Jewish Genealogical Societies (IAJGS) Achievement Awards Committee for 2017 has been established. The purpose of the committee is to review and select the 2017 IAJGS Achievement Award recipients. The Committee members include:

Chair Victoria Fisch California
  Ignacio Sternberg Venezuela
  Kim Sheintal Florida
  Avraham Groll New York
  Doug Cohen Florida
The call for applications is now open. The IAJGS Achievement Awards are given to individuals or organizations who have made or are making outstanding contributions to Jewish genealogy. The awards provide recognition in areas important to the growth of organized Jewish genealogy. The awards are announced at the annual IAJGS International Conference on Jewish Genealogy The 6 award categories are:

  • IAJGS Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Outstanding Project/Resource/Program
  • Outstanding Publication
  • IAJGS Member of the Year
  • Volunteer of the Year
  • Future Leader of the Year

Nominations are made through IAJGS member societies /membership/member-societies/. Please refer to /awards/iajgs-award-nominations/ for a list of all of the awards, the nomination rules, eligibility, and award criteria. At /awards/achievement-awards/ there is a list of past Achievement Award recipients. At /awards/award-nomination-form/ is the Award Nomination form.

The nomination deadline for submission of the Award Nomination Form and supporting documentation is 26 May 2017 at 7pm EDT.

Note the additional instructions this year:
  • The nomination packages should be submitted only once when all information is complete.
  • Nomination packages should include no more that five (5) personal reference letters.